Damn.  I was slapped in the face with the truth.  It’s hard to hear it, take it, and really eat it but there it was and I was full by the time I finished.  A friend of mine pointed out something about myself that I never noticed before.  If I did, then maybe I was being naive with myself.  I do that at times….ignore what I should be looking at.

Sigh.

I swallowed my pride and really listened to my friend after, of course, being a bit defensive for a good 10 minutes.  She spoke of it before but not in depth.  The worst part?  She’s right.  That’s what truth is all about and yet I’m happy she spoke up.  If I work on changing it now, then I could really be a happier, healthier person.  That’s the great thing about real friends.  They tell you like it is and aren’t afraid to do so.

By the time we finished discussing the why’s, what ifs, and hows, we were both frustrated.  Telling the truth and being real…that’s important to me.  So we parted ways with a hug.  I’m thankful for her words in more ways than one.  Eyes are wide open and a little growth is on it’s way.  Time to make new standards and expectations in my life.

The question is why do I do what I do and how to change it?

